The Top Lakers News & NBA Game Previews

The Top Lakers News & NBA Game Previews

0
SHARE

The Latest on the Lakers

Here is a quarter-by-quarter recap of yesterday’s 109-96 loss to the Boston Celtics by Lakers Nation’s Michael Goldsholl. [LakersNation]

Kevin Garnett had some unkind words for a Lakers’ ball-boy. [Pro Basketball Talk: Kurt Helin]

Andrew Bynum is suffering from a sore knee. [Rotoworld.com]

The Lakers coach’s and players’ reactions to the 109-96 loss (Video). [Los Angeles Times Lakers Blog: Mark Medina]

NBA Game Previews for January 31st, 2011

Toronto Raptors at Indiana Pacers- 7:00 P.M. EST/ 4:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

The Toronto Raptors have lost 11 consecutive games and they are the second-worst team in the Eastern Conference.  The Raptors have very talented players, but they are unable to close-out tight games due to their youth.

The Pacers fired head coach Jim O’Brien on Sunday, and they named Frank Vogel as the replacement.  Despite the fact that the Pacers will play in Indianapolis, the players had less than 24 hours to adjust to their new head coach.  Expect the Raptors to snap their 11-game losing streak tonight in Conseco Field House.

Prediction: Raptors win

Denver Nuggets at New Jersey Nets- NBA TV- 7:00 P.M. EST/ 4:00 P.M. PST

Carmelo Anthony and the Nuggets will travel to New Jersey to play the struggling New Jersey Nets.  The Nets were very close to acquiring ‘Melo, but talks died down after Mikhail Prokorhov called off the trade. The Nuggets are a far better team than the Nets, and they should easily walk off the court with a win.

Prediction: Nuggets win

Cleveland Cavaliers at Miami Heat- 7:30 P.M. EST/ 4:30 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

The Cleveland Cavaliers are the worst team in the NBA, and they are currently on a 20-game losing streak.  The Cavs have been plagued with injuries, and they are missing the play of LeBron James.

James has not lost a game vs. his former team, which is not surprising since the Heat has far more talent than the Cavaliers.  The Heat’s “Big 3” will dominate this game, and they will most likely give the Cavs’ their 21 consecutive loss.

Prediction: Heat win

Orlando Magic at Memphis Grizzlies- 8:00 P.M. EST/ 5:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

The Orlando Magic is currently fourth in the Eastern Conference, but the team has struggled in its past several games.  The Magic will most likely be without Gilbert Arenas, someone who brings instant offense off the bench.

The Grizzlies have won two consecutive games, and they are battling for the eight spot in the Western Conference. Grizzly star Rudy Gay is having an all-star season, and his performs well at home.  If the Magic do not have the services of a few key players, the Grizzlies can easily win this game.

Prediction: Grizzlies win

Washington Wizards at Dallas Mavericks- 8:30 P.M. EST/ 5:30 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

The Washington Wizards are 0-23 on the road and it seems as though they will stay winless after tonight’s game.  The Wizards will play a very powerful team and they will have trouble guarding Dirk Nowitzki.

The Mavericks are currently on a four-game winning streak, and they are only a game behind the Lakers for the second seed in the West; they have played well of late and should have no problem beating the lowly Wizards.

Prediction: Mavericks win

Charlotte Bobcats at Utah Jazz- 9:00 P.M. EST/ 6:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

The Charlotte Bobcats have played well under new coach Paul Silas, and they have recaptured the eight seed in the Eastern Conference.  However, winning a game in Energy Solutions Arena is a very challenging task.

Although the Jazz will be without all-star point guard Deron Williams, they should escape with a win.  The Jazz have other talented players who can fill the void at the point guard position.

Prediction: Jazz win

Milwaukee Bucks at Los Angeles Clippers- 10:30 P.M. EST/ 7:30 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Brandon Jennings has returned from his injury, he has helped the Bucks win three consecutive games and the team’s next eight games will be vs. sub-.500 teams.

However, tonight the Bucks will have to face-off with one of the hottest teams in the NBA.  The Clippers are very dangerous when they play in Staples Center, and Blake Griffin performs very well at home.   The game will be close throughout, but the Clippers should prevail thanks to their home crowd advantage.

Prediction: Clippers win