The Latest on the Lakers & NBA Game Previews

The Latest on the Lakers & NBA Game Previews

0
SHARE

The Latest on the Lakers

Kobe Bryant and Phil Jackson are trying to clear the air by clarifying their comments following the Lakers’ 19-point loss to the Memphis Grizzlies at Staples Center at Staples Center on Sunday night. [NBA.com]

The Lakers will host the Detroit Pistons tonight, here is a preview of the game by Lakers.com. [Lakers.com Gameday]

NBA Game Previews for January 4th, 2011

Milwaukee Bucks at Miami Heat- 7:30 P.M. EST/ 4:30 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

The Milwaukee Bucks will travel to South Beach to take on the Miami Heat.  The Bucks will be without Brandon Jennings and Michael Redd, so their chances of winning look very slim.

The Heat are currently on a six-game winning streak and should have no problem beating the Bucks. Although the Bucks upset the Lakers a couple weeks ago, the Heat are playing with supreme confidence.

Prediction: Heat win

San Antonio Spurs at New York Knicks- NBA TV- 7:30 P.M. EST/ 4:30 P.M. PST

The San Antonio Spurs are the hottest team in the NBA right now, and they hold the league’s best record. The Spurs have beaten many formidable opponents, including the Lakers, so they should beat the Knicks tonight.

The Knicks have been playing great basketball and they are once again relevant in the NBA. However, the Knicks will be without their young star Danilo Gallinari; without “Gallo” the Knicks will have trouble with the Spurs.

Prediction: Spurs win

Toronto Raptors at Chicago Bulls- 8:00 P.M. EST/ 5:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

The Toronto Raptors are in the bottom half of the Eastern Conference, and injuries have really hurt the team.  Both Andrea Bargnani and Sonny Weems are listed as day-to-day.

The Bulls are the third seed in the Eastern Conference and they are currently on a four-game winning streak.  The United Center crowd should work to the Bulls’ advantage, so expect to see a blow-out.

Prediction: Bulls win

Oklahoma City Thunder at Memphis Grizzlies- 8:00 P.M. EST/ 5:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

The Thunder are a healthy team and they present a challenge due to their speed and quickness.  The Thunder, however, will have their hand full today guarding the Grizzlies.

The Grizzlies are also a young team, and they are coming off a big win vs. the Lakers.  The Grizzlies are playing on their home-court, so they have the edge in this one.

Prediction: Grizzlies win

Portland Trail Blazers at Dallas Mavericks- 8:30 P.M. EST/ 5:30 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

The Blazers are plagued with injuries, and they have not fared well with elite teams.  All-star Brandon Roy will be out, which eliminats any chances for the Blazers.

The Mavericks are currently the second seed in the Western Conference and they have played amazing basketball. Although Caron Butler is out for the rest of the season due to an injury, the Mavericks have enough depth to recover.

Prediction: Mavericks win

Atlanta Hawks at Sacramento Kings- 10:00 P.M. EST/ 7:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

The Atlanta Hawks are once again one of the top teams in the Eastern Conference, and their talent should overwhelm the Kings.

The Kings are a young team and that is shown through their immaturity; primarily seen in the off-court troubles of rookie big man DeMarcus Cousins. The Kings are once again in the bottom half of the Western Conference, and they stand no chance vs. the Hawks.

Prediction: Hawks win

Detroit Pistons at Los Angeles Lakers- 10:30 P.M. EST/ 7:30 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

The Pistons beat the Lakers in the NBA Finals several years ago, bu they are no longer a dangerous team. The Pistons rarely beat upper echelon teams, and they should fall to the Lakers.

The Lakers are coming off an embarrassing loss to the Memphis Grizzlies, so expect to see a more energetic team. If the Lakers want to silence the critics, they must blow-out the lowly Pistons.

Prediction: Lakers win