Home
Point Guard Issues For The Lakers & The Top NBA News Reviewed by Momizat on . Top Story The Los Angeles Lakers fell to the Memphis Grizzlies last night 98-96, and are currently on a three-game losing streak. The Lakers now stand at 13-5 a Top Story The Los Angeles Lakers fell to the Memphis Grizzlies last night 98-96, and are currently on a three-game losing streak. The Lakers now stand at 13-5 a Rating:
You Are Here: Home » News » Point Guard Issues For The Lakers & The Top NBA News

Point Guard Issues For The Lakers & The Top NBA News

Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter

Top Story

Nov 2, 2010; Los Angeles, CA, USA; Los Angeles Lakers guard Derek Fisher (2) dribbles the ball during the game against the Memphis Grizzlies at the Staples Center. The Lakers defeated the Grizzlies 124-105. Photo via Newscom

The Los Angeles Lakers fell to the Memphis Grizzlies last night 98-96, and are currently on a three-game losing streak. The Lakers now stand at 13-5 and are the fourth seed in the Western Conference.  In the three-game losing skid, the Lakers have had trouble stopping the opponents’ point guard.   The Aging Derek Fisher and the struggling Steve Blake could not handle Deron Williams, Darren Collison or Mike Conley.   Their lack of speed allowed the opposing point guards to get to the paint at ease, and blow by the Lakers with their stellar speed. Should these point guard match-ups be a cause for concern for the Lakers?  Are Derek Fisher and Steve Blake not young or fast enough to guard the elite point guards in the NBA?

Point Guard issues are developing in Los Angeles: NBA.com Hang Time Blog: Sekou Smith

The Latest on the Lakers

The Los Angeles Lakers lost last night’s game to the Memphis Grizzlies 98-96. Here is a quarter-by-quarter recap of the loss. [LakersNation]

The Los Angeles Lakers will play their second game of a back-to-back tonight against Ron Artest’s former team, the Houston Rockets.   Lakers.com provides us with a preview of the reunion. [Lakers.com Gameday: Matt Beardmore]

Both Pau Gasol and Lamar Odom have been playing increased minutes due to the injury of Andrew Bynum. Unfortunately, the extra wear-and-tear on Gasol and Odom is hurting their play. [Los Angeles Times: Mike Bresnahan]

The Latest on the NBA

The Washington Wizards and Orlando Magic are looking into a five-player trade.  The trade will most likely include Gilbert Arenas, Andray Blatche, Vince Carter, Rashard Lewis and Daniel Orton. [Pro Basketball Talk: Kurt Helin]

After 17 long years of waiting, Michael Jordan will finally be inducted into the North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame. [ESPN.com NBA]

Boston Celtics’ Coach Doc Rivers and San Antonio Spurs’ Coach Gregg Popovich were named Eastern Conference and Western Conference Coaches of the Month respectively, for games played in October and November. [NBA.com]

New York Knicks’ Landry Fields and Los Angeles Clippers’ Blake Griffin were named Eastern Conference and Western Conference Rookies of the Month respectively, for games played in October and November. [NBA.com]

Houston Rockets’ Center, Yao Ming, targets a return on December 7th against the Detroit Pistons. [Sporting News]

New Jersey Nets’ Point Guard Devin Harris will sit-out for two games due to a knee strain. [Slam Magazine]

Washington Wizards’ Center Hilton Armstrong has been suspended for one game for his flagrant foul on Joel Anthony. [Sporting News]

NBA Results for November 30th, 2010

Boston Celtics-106 (13-4) Cleveland Cavaliers-87 (7-10) -F

Orlando Magic-90 (13-4) Detroit Pistons-79 (6-12) -F

Philadelphia 76ers-88 (5-13) Portland Trail Blazers-79 (8-9) -F

New York Knicks-111 (10-9) New Jersey Nets-100 (6-12) -F

Memphis Grizzlies-98 (8-10) Los Angeles Lakers-96 (13-5) -F

Indiana Pacers-107 (9-7) Sacramento Kings-98 (4-12) -F

San Antonio Spurs-118 (15-2) Golden State Warriors-98 (8-10) -F

NBA Schedule for December 1st, 2010

Memphis Grizzlies (8-10) at Atlanta Hawks (11-7) – 7:00 P.M. EST/ 4:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Oklahoma City Thunder (12-6) at New Jersey Nets (6-12) – 7:00 P.M. EST/ 4:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Washington Wizards (5-11) at Toronto Raptors (6-11) – 7:00 P.M. EST/ 4:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Portland Trail Blazers (8-9) at Boston Celtics (13-4) – NBA TV- 7:30 P.M. EST/ 4:30 P.M. PST

Detroit Pistons (6-12) at Miami Heat (10-8) – 7:30 P.M. EST/ 4:30 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Orlando Magic (13-4) at Chicago Bulls (9-6) – 8:00 P.M. EST/ 5:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Charlotte Bobcats (6-11) at New Orleans Hornets (12-5) – 8:00 P.M. EST/ 5:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Minnesota Timberwolves (4-13) at Dallas Mavericks (13-4) – 8:30 P.M. EST/ 5:30 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Los Angeles Lakers (13-5) at Houston Rockets (5-12)- 8:30 P.M. EST/ 5:30 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Milwaukee Bucks (6-11) at Denver Nuggets (10-6) – 9:00 P.M. EST/ 6:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Indiana Pacers (9-7) at Utah Jazz (14-5) – 9:00 P.M. EST/ 6:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

San Antonio Spurs (15-2) at Los Angeles Clippers (3-15)- 10:30 P.M. EST/ 7:30 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

LakersNation Comment of the Day

Stanley Kuo on Facebook “Lakers aren’t playing good defense and that’s what’s hurting them more than anything else. I can see them losing  four straight unfortunately. Kobe & Co. need to play like their life’s depending on against Houston.”

Make sure to check out the Daily News Recaps to see if your comment won the honor.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter

About The Author

Ramneet is a senior writer for Lakers Nation and has been contributing his thoughts on the Lakers and the NBA since 2010. Follow Ramneet on Twitter @Ramneet24.

Number of Entries : 1374

Privacy Policy | © 2014 Medium Large, LLC. All Rights Reserved

Scroll to top