Michael Jackson’s Influence on Kobe Bryant & The Top NBA News

Michael Jackson’s Influence on Kobe Bryant & The Top NBA News

0
SHARE

Top Story

Michael Jackson leaves the Santa Barbara County Courthouse after being found not guilty on all ten counts of child molestation in Santa Maria, California in this June 13, 2005 file photo. Fans, museums and some members of Michael Jackson's family will mark Friday's one-year anniversary of the singer's death on June 25, 2010 with special exhibits, tributes and flash mob dances from Manila to Manhattan. REUTERS/Gene Blevins/Files  (UNITED STATES - Tags: ENTERTAINMENT OBITUARY)

Kobe Bryant grew up idolizing many players and he tried to mimic the moves of Earvin “Magic” Johnson and Michael Jordan.  However, perhaps one of the most influential people  in Kobe’s early NBA career was— Michael Jackson.  The King of Pop mentored Bryant about life with stardom, and told him to stay smarter, sharper and insatiable in the chase to success.   Bryant and Jackson would meet at Neverland Ranch and would talk about their careers and lives.  Bryant says his on-court aggressiveness comes from the help of Michael Jackson.

Michael Jackson mentored Kobe Bryant early in his NBA career: Yahoo! Sports: Adrian Wojnarowski

The Latest on the Lakers

Steve Blake, Luke Walton, Devin Ebanks, A.C Green and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar served close to 100 Turkey dinners in Torrance to Marines from Camp Pendleton, Twentynine Palms, and the Naval Medical Center in San Diego.  This event was part of the Lakers’ “A Season of Giving,” and shows how much the Lakers franchise care for the community. [OC Register: Janis Carr]

Los Angeles Lakers’ Head Coach Phil Jackson believes if the Miami Heat do not get it “together,” Coach Erik Spoelstra will be fired.  Another mind trick pulled by the Zen Master. [ESPN Los Angeles]

Take a look at the new Nike Kobe VI, that will be released on Christmas Day 2010. [Dime Magazine]

The Latest on the NBA

Number nine on Dime Magazine’s Top NBA Go-To-Guys is…[Dime Magazine]

The National Basketball Association Players Union Executive Director, Billy Hunter, says a lock-out in inevitable. [Yahoo! Sports Ball Don’t Lie: Kelly Dwyer]

The Oklahoma City Thunder and Nick Collison agree to a contract extension, terms undisclosed. [ESPN.com NBA]

Miami Heat Forward/Center Udonis Haslem may miss the entire season due to surgery that will repair a torn ligament in his left foot. [ESPN.com NBA]

Due to their lack of big men and injuries plaguing many players, the Miami Heat sign Center Erick Dampier to a one-year contract. [NBA.com: David Aldridge]

Boston Celtics Point Guard, Rajon Rondo, believes he can average 20 assists per game. [Dime Magazine]

Denver Nuggets Point Guard, Chauncey Billups, may end up leaving the team if Carmelo Anthony gets traded.  Dime Magazine takes a look at the best places for Billups, and the Lakers are number three. [Dime Magazine: Austin Burton]

NBA Results for November 22nd, 2010

Boston Celtics-99 (10-4) Atlanta Hawks-76 (8-6) -F

Indiana Pacers-93 (6-6) Miami Heat-77 (8-6) -F

Oklahoma City Thunder-117 (10-4) Minnesota Timberwolves-107 (4-11) -F

Phoenix Suns-123 (7-7) Houston Rockets-116 (3-10) -F

San Antonio Spurs-107 (12-1) Orlando Magic-96 (9-4)-F

Utah Jazz-94 () Sacramento Kings-83 () -F

Denver Nuggets-106 () Golden State Warriors-89 () -F

Los Angeles Clippers-99 (2-13) New Orleans Hornets-95 (11-2) -F

NBA Schedule for November 23rd, 2010

Cleveland Cavaliers (5-7) at Indiana Pacers (6-6) – 7:00 P.M. EST/ 4:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Atlanta Hawks (8-6) at New Jersey Nets (4-9) – 7:00 P.M. EST/ 4:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Philadelphia 76ers (3-10) at Washington Wizards (4-8) – 7:00 P.M. EST/ 4:00 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Charlotte Bobcats (5-8) at New York Knicks (6-8) – 7:30 P.M. EST/ 4:30 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Detroit Pistons (5-8) at Dallas Mavericks (8-4) – 8:30 P.M. EST/ 5:30 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass

Chicago Bulls (7-4) at Los Angeles Lakers (12-2) – NBA TV- 10:30 P.M. EST/ 7:30 P.M. PST- NBA League Pass