Kobe Bryant’s New Cast & The Top NBA News

Kobe Bryant’s New Cast & The Top NBA News

0
SHARE

Top Story

Los Angeles Lakers' Kobe Bryant (L) and Pau Gasol of Spain (R) fight for a rebound with Toronto Raptors' Julian Wright during their NBA basketball game in Los Angeles, California November 5, 2010. REUTERS/Lucy Nicholson (UNITED STATES - Tags: SPORT BASKETBALL)


Kobe Bryant had suffered one of the worst injuries of his career last season on December 11th, against the Minnesota Timberwolves.   Bryant suffered an avulsion fracture on his right index finger, and it has haunted him ever since.  Bryant played with a “cast” on his finger fall throughout the remainder of the season and the playoffs.  Albeit the Los Angeles Lakers won the NBA champion and Kobe Bryant won Finals MVP, the finger was an impediment for Bryant for the entire series.  However, Bryant did not have surgery on the finger during the summer, and decided to live through the pain.  Kobe Bryant will now wear a redesigned “cast” to protect his finger, that is lighters, more flexible, and a lot more stylish.

Kobe Bryant will wear another “cast” on his finger which will help protect his right index finger: OC Register: Kevin Ding

The Latest on the Lakers

Los Angeles Lakers’ assistant coach Chuck Persons is helping the Lakers players develop and improve their offensive game. [Los Angeles Times: Mike Bresnahan]

Although there has been criticism about the Lakers’ defense, the team still plays aggressive on that end of the floor.  No team should underestimate the Lakers “average” defense.  [Pro Basketball Talk: Kurt Helin]

ESPN’s John Hollinger has the Miami Heat over the Los Angeles Lakers in the Power Rankings, while ESPN’s Mark Stein has the Los Angeles Lakers and the Boston Celtics number one and two respectively. [ESPN: John Hollinger] [ESPN: Mark Stein]

Five things to watch for in tonight’s game between the Minnesota Timberwolves (1-6) and Los Angeles Lakers (7-0) : Can all of the Lakers’ starters play under 30 minutes, will Minnesota cause bad luck for the Lakers’ health, expect to see Kevin Love on the bench, both teams play the triangle offense but see how different they run it, and do not expect the Lakers to be challenged on the defensive end. [Los Angeles Lakers: Lakers Blog]

Lakers.com’s Mike Trudell looks at the Los Angles Lakers’ early season league-ranks. [Lakers.com BasketBlog: Mike Trudell]

Laker great Elgin Baylor has more on the racist ways of Donald Sterling. [Slam Magazine]

Los Angeles Lakers’ forward Lamar Odom sued the IRS over deductions. [Pro Basketball Talk: Kurt Helin]

The Latest on the NBA

Number 13 on Dime Magazine’s Top NBA-Go-To-Guys is…[Dime Magazine]

The world famous NBA Store on Fifth Avenue in New York City will move from its Manhattan location due to increase lease.   The store is expected to leave in late February of 2011 and is looking for another location; Japanese clothing retailer Uniqlo will take over the building. [Dime Magazine]

The NBA lost perhaps the most attractive Fifth Avenue attraction, the NBA Store.  By late February, the store will no longer be located in the heart of Manhattan.  [Slam Magazine]

The NCAA in 3D has caused a lot of excitement, even Villanova Coach Jay Wright is excited [Dime Magazine]

New Jersey Nets’ coach Avery Johnson wants his players to be more aggressive. [Pro Basketball Talk: Kurt Helin]

Carmelo Anthony is open to staying with the Denver Nuggets. [Sporting News]

NBA Results for November 8th, 2010

San Antonio Spurs- 95 (5-1) Charlotte Bobcats-91 (1-6)

Orlando Magic-93 (5-1) Atlanta Hawks-89 (6-2)

Golden State Warriors-109 (5-2) Toronto Raptors-102 (1-6)

Chicago Bulls-94 (3-3) Denver Nuggets-92 (4-3)

Memphis Grizzlies-109 (4-4) Phoenix Suns-99 (3-4)

Dallas Mavericks-89 (4-2) Boston Celtics-87 (6-2)

NBA Schedule for November 9th, 2010

Denver Nuggets (4-3) @ Indiana Pacers (2-3) – 7:00 P.M. EST / 4:00 P.M. PST

Cleveland Cavaliers (3-3) @ New Jersey Nets (2-4)- 7:00 P.M. EST / 4:00 P.M. PST

Utah Jazz (3-3) @ Miami Heat (5-2) -NBA TV – 7:30 P.M. EST / 4:30 P.M. PST

New York Knicks (3-3) @ Milwaukee Bucks (2-5) – 8:00 P.M. EST / 5:00  P.M. PST

Los Angeles Clippers (1-6) @ New Orleans Hornets (6-0) – 8:00 P.M. EST / 5:00 P.M. PST

Detroit Pistons (2-5) @ Portland Trail Blazers (5-3) – 10:00 P.M. EST/ 7:00 P.M. PST

Minnesota Timberwolves (1-6) @ Los Angeles Lakers (7-0) – 10:30 P.M. EST/ 7:30 P.M. PST